RESOURCES
click THIS... win STUFF...
Shopping
Nailtech Connect
Sponsors
Forums / Mailing List
Business Builders
Calendar / Contests
Licensing Info
Salon Locator Listing

Links|Forums|Shopping|Calendar|click THIS/win STUFF|Articles|Newsletter|Help

Contests
click THIS/win STUFF
Strut Your Stuff
Nails Magazine
More....
Departments
NailTech*
CutingEdge
SkinTech
SalonTalk
Stay Informed

 Sign up for our Free Monthly Email Newsletter

Networking Tools
NailTech Connect
Message Boards
Mailing Lists
Live Chat
Network Events
Business Builders
Resources
Sponsors
NailTech Connect
Articles
MMA Information
Booth Rental Info
Licensing Info
Calendars
Salon Listing
Quizzes
IRS Info
Ebook's & Etutorials
Celebrity Q & A
Nail Art Gallery
Salon Recipes
Shopping
Links
BeautyTech Shoppe

Shop Till You Drop

Salon Posters
Milady Publications
Site Tools
Search
Advertise
Contact Us
Privacy Policy
Bookmark Page
Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement

Licensing Requirements

Additions - Corrections to: [email protected]

All information listed on the following pages MAY NOT be current.
Please check directly with the agency.

Licensing Requirements Home


Rhode Island


Manicurist: 300 hours
Reciprocity: Considered on an individual basis
Home Salon allowed.

RHODE ISLAND
Dept. of Health, Division of Hairdressing & Barbering

Rm. 104
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097
401-222-2511, 401/277-2827
Fax: 401-222-1272


South Carolina


Board of Barber Examiners:
Cosmetology: 1500 Hours
Nail Technician: 300 Hours
Esthetics: 450 Hours
Reciprocity: is granted to those applicants who have completed the same requirements as South Carolina. You may have to pass "The National Exam"
Home salon allowed.

MMA Info:To quote a letter written to Diana Bonn 6/99, "..the Board has a policy against the use of MMA Liquid Monomers and pursuant to that policy has instructed all of its inspectors to check for them when inspecting nail technicians. At this time, it is the Board's opinion that legislation is not required and the situation can be handled by its policy."

How to File a Complaint

SOUTH CAROLINA Board of Cosmetology
P.O. Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29211
803/896-4494
Fax: 803-896-4484


South Dakota


Cosmetologist: 2100 hours
Nail Technician: 400 hours
Reciprocity: All states with equal requirements and those reciprocating with SD. Also require proof of passage of the NIC theory examination and the NIC practical examination.
Home Salon allowed.

MMA has been prohibited in one manner or another in this state.
Prohibited can mean:
A law or rule has been passed prohibiting MMA use.
The technician and/or shop will receive a written/verbal warning possibly after a consumer complaint or inspection by state officials.
A fine may be accessed if a violation occurs.
The state abides by the FDA guidelines.
Please see the state's web site for more specific information and/or contact them or us directly.

See http://www.state.sd.us/dcr/cosmo/consumer.htm 

SOUTH DAKOTA Cosmetology Commission
500 E. Capitol
Pierre, SD 57501
605/773-6193
Fax: 605-224-5072

[email protected]
 


Tennessee


Cosmetology: 1500 hours
Nail Technology: 600 hour
Esthetics: 750 hours.
Reciprocity: Applicant holds a license in a State whose requirements are the same as Tennessee. This is true for all licenses. EXCEPT Nail Technology where the State Board requires a theory and practical exam.
Home Salon allowed

MMA has been prohibited in one manner or another in this state.
Prohibited can mean:
A law or rule has been passed prohibiting MMA use.
The technician and/or shop will receive a written/verbal warning possibly after a consumer complaint or inspection by state officials.
A fine may be accessed if a violation occurs.
The state abides by the FDA guidelines.
Please see the state's web site for more specific information and/or contact them or us directly.

File a Complaint

TENNESSEE Board of Cosmetology
Barber Examiners -- Cosmetology
500 James Robertson Pkwy.
Nashville, TN 37243-1147
615/741-2515
Fax: 615 -741-1310
Contact the Director


Texas


Cosmetology: 1500 Hours
Nail Technician: 600 Hours
Esthetics: 750 Hours as of Sept. 2004
Formal education: seventh grade or equivalent. Must be at least 17 years old.
Reciprocity: granted to applicants with licenses from another State whose requirements are the same as or greater than Texas'.
Home Salon allowed

MMA has been prohibited in one manner or another in this state.
Prohibited can mean:
A law or rule has been passed prohibiting MMA use.
The technician and/or shop will receive a written/verbal warning possibly after a consumer complaint or inspection by state officials.
A fine may be accessed if a violation occurs.
The state abides by the FDA guidelines.
Please see the state's web site for more specific information and/or contact them or us directly.

Report Violations Online

Exam info

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 26700
Austin, TX 78755-0700
1-800-943-8922 or 512-380-7600
512- 454-0339 Main FAX

 

Advertisement



Booth Rental Info

Home >< NailTech* >< CutingEdge >< SkinTech >< SalonTalk >< BeautyTech Shoppe >< Articles
Nailtech Connect - Feed Your Nail Addiction >< click THIS/win STUFF
Licensing >< Residents/Sponsors >< Links >< Mailing Lists >< Message Boards >< Live Chat
Show/Class Calendar
Search >< Advertising >< HELP!!!

WWWeb Services Standard disclaimers apply to all material contained at this site.
This site Created, Maintained and Staffed by WWWeb Services.
If you have questions or problems with this service, send an E-mail to WWWeb Services.
Photos used by permission. *NAILTEK and NAILTECH are registered trademarks of Prima Technologies, Inc.
Contact Us