Additions - Corrections to: [email protected]
All information listed on the following pages MAY NOT
Please check directly with the agency.
Licensing Requirements Home
Cosmetologist: 1500 clock hours
Esthetician: 1200 hours
Nail Technicians: 750 hours
Reciprocity: Must meet the hours requirements of Alabama at the time of licensure. Must present proof of five years of licensed experience.
Board of Cosmetology
100 N. Union St., #320
Montgomery, AL 36130
Hairdresser: 1650 hours, Apprenticeship, with a licensed instructor,
Manicurist: 12 hrs
Advanced manicurist 250 hrs, completed a course of study in a school approved by
Esthetician: 360 hours or apprenticeship are required for licensing
Reciprocity: Must have completed 1650 hours. Alaska will grant credit for
work experience. ( 500 hours for each year in the field. )
Note: A Cosmetologist in Alaska may only do facial, hair removal and make-up. A
Hairdresser only works with the hair. TWO licenses would be required to do all these
Complaints: [email protected]
Licensing Board of Barber & Hairdressers
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Cosmetologist: 1600 hours
Aesthetician: 600 hours
Nail Technician: 600 hours
Minimum Requirements: All applicants must have at least a 10th grade education or its'
equivalent. Home Salons and Mobile Salons allowed.
A) Notwithstanding sections 32-511 and 32-512, a person is entitled to receive a
cosmetologist, aesthetician or nail technician license if he: 1) Submits to the board
under oath an application for a cosmetologist, aesthetician or nail technician license on
a form supplied by the board. 2) Has practiced as a licensed cosmetologist, aesthetician
or nail technician for at least one of the five years immediately preceding his
application in another state or country and holds a current license in that state or
country. 3) Pays the prescribed fees. B) For purposes of substantial equivalent
requirements under subsection A, paragraph 2 of this section, the board may consider
length of work experience in the state in which the person was licensed before applying
for a license under this section if the training requirements of that state are less than
sixteen hundred hours.
A) A cosmetologist, aesthetician or nail technician shall renew his license on or before
his birth date every year. B) A cosmetologist, aesthetician or nail technician shall
submit an application for renewal accompanied by the prescribed renewal fee in order to
renew his license. C) A cosmetologist, aesthetician or nail technician who fails to renew
his license on or before his birth date shall also pay the prescribed delinquent renewal
penalty in order to renew his license.
State Board of Cosmetology
1721 E. Broadway Rd.
Tempe, AZ 85282-1611
NEW AREA CODE
Cosmetology: 1500 Hours
Nail Technology: 600 Hours
Esthetician: 600 Hours
Electrology: 600 Hours or only 350 Hours if you hold a valid cosmetology
Reciprocity: Granted to all those who hold a valid license but has passed
BOTH a written AND practical exam.
Home Salons Allowed
MMA has been prohibited in one manner or another in this state.
Prohibited can mean:
A law or rule has been passed prohibiting MMA use.
The technician and/or shop will receive a written/verbal warning possibly after a consumer complaint or inspection by state officials.
A fine may be accessed if a violation occurs.
The state abides by the FDA guidelines.
Please see the state's web site for more specific information and/or contact them or us directly.
ARKANSAS State Board of Cosmetology
101 F. Capital, Ste. 108
Little Rock, AR 72201