You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tooth and Nail and other disasters...
Hi there all,

I'm Sophie. I'm a late bloomer looking to change my life. I know this forum is only for professionals (I sincerely hope you will include me), but I am in great need of mentoring, and am serious about becoming a nail technician who's worth her salt. I came across this community, and felt so blessed. I would be so very grateful if someone out there can guide me.

I was a dentist who fell out of love with her work. I thought I had gone into it for all the right reasons, but it seems it takes more than that to be able to survive out there. I finally decided to be true to myself, and focus on where my heart lies. I believe this a profession that will allow me to be:
1. Caring/nurturing/supportive towards my clients
2. Creative
3. Fulfilled and upbeat

Please correct me if I'm wrong. I realize that no line of work is perfect, but I don't think I could do worse than a dentist. I wasn't in it for the money. I simply have this thing in me that needs to be nurturing and supportive. To make a bad day better for someone. Okay. Now i'm tearing up a little. It's been a rough road full of wrong choices. But I know it's a lesson I needed to learn, and that's always good.

I am primarily interested in becoming a nail professional only. There are some similarities there to dentistry. I've also worked a lot with acrylic, etc. Of course, I know very little, and have a long, long way to go here. Please, can anyone point me in the right direction when it comes to a good school, and share any sage advice/insight about the nail profession in general?