You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New Salon + New Owner = Success or Disaster??
Scenario: Working for an owner who has no prior business experience. Owner is a non-practicing beauty professional with a background in skin care.

This is a new business venture. I would be hired as a manager. While I have not held the title "salon manager" prior, I have a few years experience performing various managerial tasks in a previous salon.

The salon is in a residential area, demographics are a mix of low and mid income families. There is no competition in a 8 mile radius, and lots of foot traffic. Therefore, there is an opportunity for the salon to be very successful. There will be 6 stations, nails only services. While I see this as a great opportunity to gain more managerial experience under my belt in a new salon, I am a little apprehensive.

My main concern: working for an owner with no prior business experience. There are pros and cons I know, but I want to be smart about this. The owner is willing to offer a generous salary, but we all know that all money ain't good money. I don't want to get caught up working 24/7 because the owner doesn't feel the need to be there on a regular basis because that's what I was hired for.

Would any of you accept a position working with an owner with no prior business experience? Any suggestions or advice is appreciated.

Thanks for your take on this everyone. I appreciate it.

Chrissy
http://www.lovethosetoes.com