You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Should I stay or should I go?
Sad 
I have been doing nails for 9 years and have been working at the same nail salon for exactly half of that time. I just finished massage school in December and my license arrived in the mail yesterday, so I have just begun looking for a part time massage job, and in the meantime am working full time at the nail salon.

I have been telling my clients and coworkers that my plan after school was to keep doing nails at least 1-2 days a week. I can't see ever giving it up totally because it fills a social need that massage doesn't, and I really enjoy the work. I have formed close bonds with many of my coworkers and regular clients, and the thought of leaving them is very hard on me. I also have full books, almost every day, even during slower months and make VERY good money. I never thought I would leave until recently.

The first thing that upset me was back in December I realized my commission had been cut without anyone telling me. I started at the salon when it first opened and in order to entice people to work weekends they were offering 5% higher commission on Saturdays and Sundays if you worked both days. I still do work both Saturday and Sunday, and was the only person getting that higher rate since everyone else either started later or never worked the full weekend. I guess they didn't expect me to notice that my commission had been cut, but I did. They still have yet to say anything to me about it. I let it go because soon I will not be working the full weekend there anyway.