You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What to pay a nail tech
I recently opened a salon. I am a hair stylist of 11 years and am in the process of hiring a nail tech. She is coming to me a partial clientele. I am not sure how to pay her. She will be commission based. She is use to getting hourly and commision, whichever is higher. Any suggestion/advice???
doesn't what tittle you give her, it should be a partnership between you two.
she need to take ownership to that table as she own the salon. You don't decide how much she get pay, the client do.
it's up to you two to make out a salary/commission rate that both can work with. on your part you take care of means to work with and she do her part to make the the business that come through her tables grow by making all clients are returning clients and referring new one......... when her book is 80% to %100 full then she get a raise just remember to put in your part of the share profits on the raise to updating equipment, remodeling, and in some case updating education....... just remember it is a partnership that take a life long commitment on both party to have a long happy relationship.

one thing tho if thing don't work out you may end up losing a client also.
J Pham
No boundaries, just possibility.

http://www.facebook.com/jphamfb
When i worked in salons i never was paid less than 50%. With 26 years experience i do request 60%. I always have my own implements and the salon supplied the rest.
Whenever you move to a new salon you usually lose a few clients on the way. See how busy she is. You can start off 50/50 and if she gets real busy after 3 or 6 months bump up the commission. You can always give more but cannot decrease.
Good luck
It really kind of depends on where you live too. Where I live 30-40% is average.That usually includes paid time off and insurance benefits too.