You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help nail fell off!
Hi All,

I'm a newbie nail tech and the receptionist at the spa I work at lost one of her fingernails and was wondering if I could put a fake one on. Can we do that and if so would I use gel or acrylic or should I just advise her to let it heal?

Thanks for your help.
you can try but it is very hard to keep one on that is adhering only to the skin. I had the same problem and asked on here and the best advice I found was to put a coat of "New Skin" which is liquid bandage on top of the skin and then do your enhancement. I tried acrylic and tips with gel and they both lasted about the same amount of time, which wasn't much, only a couple of days. I had to keep re-applying them but it's better than going around with a band-aid on your finger for weeks. it took a long time for it to grow out!
The other thing you can do is to wrap a piece of saran wrap over her finger tightly, then sculpt her a new nail over that (you don't want the acrylic or gel being applied directly to her skin). Once it's cured, peel off the saran wrap and she can adhere the nail to her finger with eyelash glue. I've been told by several doctors it's ok to use super glue directly on skin, but I wouldn't feel comfortable telling my clients to do that. I would make her a few sculpted nails in case she loses one or two.
What to Do About Unhealthy Nail Conditions?
I read this on Doug Schoon's website a few weeks ago: