You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
repair lost toenail with sculptered gel
Hello to the source of all nail care knowledge! A customer of mine lost her toenail from an accident & its grown back just a bit & no open wound or sore. Most of that toenail, (3rd toe) is gone. I have no experience using sculptered gel product for repair/adding a nail extension to toenails but hear its possible. Let me know if there's a specific way to do this; dont want to make the problem worse.

Thanks in advance for your advice.
(07-18-2012, 01:25 PM)jerimoceri Wrote: Hello to the source of all nail care knowledge! A customer of mine lost her toenail from an accident & its grown back just a bit & no open wound or sore. Most of that toenail, (3rd toe) is gone. I have no experience using sculptered gel product for repair/adding a nail extension to toenails but hear its possible. Let me know if there's a specific way to do this; dont want to make the problem worse.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Well, I have to say, using acrylic would be far easier. But if you're a gel only tech, then I would just do your normal prep. Fit a form (might need some tailoring). Do a clear extension, remove the form, and build the nail up as needed until it's level.

Hope this helps,

Jesse
I had that happen to my pinkie nail and I found that putting a layer of "New Skin" liquid bandage first helped it adhere to the skin. It made it last a little bit longer since it was attached to the skin and not a nail. Of course I got that info. from my friends on BeautyTech!
I defifintely agree acrylic is easier. Its so easy to lay the acrylic down and press it into shape and finish file it in place. Gel wld be more hassle than anytg......so i wld try acrylic if i were u. They r so easy once u get the hang of it..and its such a great service to be able to offer your clients!!!