You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tips to Improve Basic Mani/Pedi Speed
I graduated school about a month ago and for my salon I need to get my manicure down to 25 minutes and my pedicure down to 35 minutes. It is currently taking me about 35-40 mins depending on the polish for a manicure. For a pedicure, it takes me about 40-50 mins. What can I do to get it down? Polishing and filing takes me the most time. I've been trying to do less filing by cutting as much as I can as close to the shape I want but most of the clients at this salon have very short nails and it is difficult to cut and file their nails. Any tips?

This is my procedure:

Manicure:
1. Remove polish.
2. Cut and file nails (We use emery boards for filing). Apply cuticle remover. Soak hand.
3. Repeat on other hand.
4. Push back cuticles and buff off leftover dead tissue. Trim hangnails and cuticle as necessary.
5. Repeat on other hand.
6. Massage hands for 1-2 mins. Wrap in hot towel.
7. Remove excess lotion with towel. Clean nails.
8. Polish

Pedicure:
1. Remove polish.
2. Cut and file nails. Apply cuticle remover. Lightly buff heels (Diamancel Buffer) and callouses. Soak.
3. Repeat.
4. Push back cuticles. Buff leftover dead tissue. Buff heels and callouses again.
5. Repeat on other foot.
6. Massage for 2-3 mins. Wrap in hot towel.
7. Remove excess lotion and clean nails.
8. Polish.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
For your pedicure, you should use one of the great callus elliminators that we have available to us. I use La Palm. I think it works the best.