You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Clientele question
Currently I work as a mobile nail technician but I would really like to expand my services to waxing, facials and massages. I don't see myself operating as a mobile nail technician for much longer as I'm looking forward to operating from a stable place (hopefully in the near future). I have made connections with a very popular hairdressing salon in my area who has a room available to rent. This room will allow me the ability to do the extra services as well as nails. I am seriously considering her offer but my dream is to have a place to call my own. At the moment I really don't have the clientele that I would need to start off on my own but I was wondering exactly how much clients would I really need to take that step on my own, rather than having to booth rent. Right now I have approximately 15 very loyal clients but I know that is no where near enough to keep doors open. How much did u guys start off with?
The more services you offer, the more equipment and supplies you have to buy . . . and a fixed location generally requires more overhead. Too many variables to give you a definitive answer: how much is the rent? How much do you earn (net) from those 15 clients? Will they even come to your location, or do they prefer mobile services? etc. etc. etc.

We all start somewhere . . . but being the only manicurist in a busy salon could be a great place to be.
Jaime Schrabeck, Ph.D. (yes, it's real)
http://www.precisionnails.com
http://shop.precisionnails.com
This is a great starting point for you to get yourself into a salon environment.

Salon V's mobile is like chalk and cheese and I personally think it's a much better stepping stone to owning your own salon, if you rent a room/booth rent for a while.