You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Correcting nail shape with gel application
I have a client who has thin flat brittle nails. When her free edge grows out the sides want to stay straight and don't have a nice downward curve. She'd like to try a gel application to see if the application will give her nails a nicer shape. Since I've never used gels before I'd like to hear what everyone has to say.
You can temporarily correct this if you clip off her entire free edge then apply extensions, but as her nails grow, they will grow back into that shape. So the answer is yes, you can, but it won't permanently correct the shape.
Laura Merzetti
http://www.scratchmyback.ca
CND Education Ambassador
Toronto, Ontario Canada
My daughter normally has very thin and flat nails. When she started wearing gels we noticed that she developed a beautiful C curve. The gel helped to support the nail as it grew and prevented it from flattening out. Of course, when she quit wearing gels, her nails flattened out again.
I've also seen that after you cure the first coat of clear gel, apply a line of gel down the middle of the nail, longways, and turn upside down for a few seconds. this will make the gel settle into a curve in the middle, then cure. I've never tried it and I would imagine it takes a few tries to get the hang of it but that's what I've seen to make the nail curvier.
I don't know if it's as true for gel, but I do know that you can change growth patterns in nails with acrylic, but it takes 1-2 years of continual usage to effect the change. This can work for ski-jump nails and nails that detach too low on the nail bed. What I'm not sure of is if gel is hard enough, though I would think it should be...
Candice
Nail Tech/Owner
http://www.PanacheNailStudio.com