You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
fungus and vicks vapor rub and another question.. :)
hi there....

had a client come in and she has a fungus in her nail.. she wants to use vicks vapor rub..but wants to know if it ruins the polish.. i have heard about this but dont know about the polish.. thoughts??

also.. i have a client who's an acrylic client who wears the opi gel color/shellac... one the appt that she needs a 'fill'.. i file it off and reapply... my charge is 35.. two weeks later i have to add acrylic or gel and add an extra 10..... is that enough or not enough ?? i know area indicated price but........
TIA...
I'm still a student, but it seems like having good-looking polish needs to take a backseat and the focus should be the treatment of the fungus, if you're sure that's what it is. It won't matter how the polish looks if her fingernail is no longer attached to her finger.
RE: Fungus

I am sure you know that you should not be working on anyone with fungal infection and hope that she was asking for advise and you were not polishing her nails. I have always been taught that we refer clients to an MD for the treatment of a fungal infections and be done with the whole thing. I would not agree to to the Vicks home remedy, and I am not even sure polish is a good idea due to fungus breeding in dark moist places.

RE: Gel polish
I am up-charging my Shellac services about $10 per service. But I would love to hear other thoughts on this as I am not sure if that is enough...
thank you for your advice... i have been a nail tech for 12 years and i don't live in a perfect world.. so sometimes you see clients with fungus...

i have read other threads than support the VVR...

yes.. i have also heard that 10 is a good number to add... thx...