You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Australian Nail Technician
Comments were made in another thread in relation to making a complaint about dodgy practices in a nail tech's world. As that thread was subsequently closed right after that comment was made I was not able to address it. For reference this can be found here - http://beautytech.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=42975

As the following comments were not correct, I feel it needs addressing.

Quote:You ladies in AU have no licensing, from all reports, many of your techs are self taught and doing poor/harmful work. You have really almost no one to complain to, and there is nothing much that can be done if you do.

This was a very unfair thing to say because -

1. It was made by the mod who then closed off the thread preventing any correction;
2. The contents of that paragraph are not accurate;
3. It's a slap in the face to the many Australians who frequent, support, talk about and like this forum.
4. This is not the first time a comment has been made about Australian practices which has proven to be wrong.

So rather than have these injustices go unanswered, I would like to cordially point out the following:

- True, Australia does not have any formal licensing in the same way that the US does. Neither do a lot of countries. That doesn't mean that the US licensing system works or that other countries have poor performing nail technicians as a result. in fact, what I read in other forums such as professional magazines, Facebook forums etc points to a lot of disgruntlement with present State Board systems in the US. Nevertheless, Australian nail techs are subject to other forms of licensing depending on where they practice.