You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
State Board tips and advice
I will be taking my state board at the end of this month. I am 100% self taught online student. My instructor is AWFUL. Anyways I am very nervous about passing the waxing and nails. If you have any advice, tips, or recommended websites it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
I would like all advice with being a nail technician
Relax, dress professionally, be very organized, and eat something light before you go in!
I don't know about where you are, but the written part was basically all of the nail conditions and terms almost word for word from the book (Milady). And I found it easiest to use those disposable food containers to organize my box according to procedure. Like one each for natural nail, L&P acrylic, wrap, tip with every single thing needed to perform that service. That way I didn't have to dig around for things I needed and didn't have to worry about forgetting to take something out. It also made it easier to clean up by just putting everything back in that box and put it on the floor in between services.
Hope this helps!
Claudia
C-C My Nails
Newcastle, WY
Don't sweat the waxing. These are the tips I remembered for my exam:
Make sure to pull parallel to the leg and apply pressure after removal. Test the temperature of the wax on your wrist before applying to make sure its not too hot for the client. Apply the stick to the leg and let it pool on the skin a little before you push, push, push (or pull, pull, pull) all the way down to the ankle.

I hope this helps, I'm in canada and we don't have strict exams, or state licensing....