You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What do i really need to open shop?
Hey everyone,

I’m so excited. I got an offer to rent a booth 3 days a week for 40 bucks. She only provides cleaning on Sundays and washer dryer. She said I would be my own boss and have a key in hand all access to software programs and it’s a private room with table and pedicure spa provided and shelving. Ok now that I told you the info my question is what do I really need to get started? I’ve never worked in a salon before and don’t even know where to start.

Do I need an autoclave or can I sanitize everything in a closed container with barbcide for 10 mins then put in dry sanitized storage container.

Do I need msds binder for all my product? Do I need to label everything? If anyone knows of a check list please let me know.
Mitchele Sheree Hunt
CND Master Painter
http://mitchelesheree.blogspot.com/
You need to check your state board website for info. It will tell you about the sterilization required. You can get copies of MSDS sheets from your supplier and/or the manufacturer- many have them on their websites for you to print. Some states require extra labeling and some will accept the label on the product. If you put anything in another container, it should be labeled with the contents.
I have a checklist I use. Please email me if you would like a copy. [email protected]
Always be kind....you get farther.
I'd also check into your tax stuff. Making sure you are a booth renter, not an employee, etc.

When I was first starting off I was offered a similar situation only they were paying me a 60/40 split. Then at the end of the year they decided to call me an Independent Contractor (requiring additional licensing here) and hitting me with a 1099 and therefore ALL of my taxes for the year.
~Amanda~

"Work is either fun or drudgery. I like fun!"