You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Returning to the field and looking for advice
Good morning! I found this forum last week and have spent hours reading old posts looking for good tips.

This is my story. I graduated from nail school close to 15 years ago. I worked in a salon for a few years and was offered a job in a medical office from an old employer that I couldn't pass up so I quit doing nails. I have kept my license current and done nails for friends from time to time just to keep in practice a little. I am very rusty though.

My cousin has a salon with two hair stylists. She recently re-did the salon and asked me to join her as a nail tech to provide manicures and pedicures only. No acrylics. I am very excited to get back into doing nails.

There are a few hair salons in town that offer nails and a couple nail only salons and most specialize in acrylics. No one really specializes in mani/pedi. I am looking to offer the best manicures and pedicures they can imagine! Does anyone have any advice? What can I offer in my mani/pedi that will knock their socks off? I want to make them count down the days until their next service!

Thanks in advance! I hope to get to know you all.
Christie
I personally recommend a good refresher coarse in natural nail care, and their disease and disorders. If you have time follow Doug Schoon's brain ( on natural nail anatomy) its very helpful. And I believe there are classes on spa manicures and the benefits of product. I don't know if anyone will be able to tell you as much as show you what a really excellent manicure needs.