You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...
Hello There, Guest!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I Suck....kinda
Im new to the industry and find myself often frustrated with "my gel situation"

Ive been looking for a mentor and even posting on craigslist for one.

My salon doesnt do acrylic however I am introduing gel nail full sets. My goal is to perfect this and rock it...however there is only so much I can do on my own.

I have a gal that I used axxium on and we did a full set with tips, have had little to no issues and they look great.

I attempted a set on horribly bitten nubby nails and they came RIGHT OFF! I knew personally that the proper way to do her nails was buildable gel with a form, but due to time constraint we went ahead and tried with tips. BIG mistake... I had to glue the tips so far back because her nails beds were almost non exsistent. I hated the way they turned out and they came off in the shower the next day. I assume it was because I used tips that they fell off, either to far back, too much product on the skin, etc..

I was so disgusted with my work and just pissed, please someone guide me!!!
I hate to say it, but often the best thing to do with horribly bitten short nails is to sculpt an acrylic set and then later transition to gel. It seems that gel really only likes healthy nails, and acrylic is harder, and IMO you can do a stronger sculpt. Alternatively, try to get them to start with an overlay and grow into their length - that keeps them from banging suddenly longer nails, too. I'm now prepared to get blasted by the gel only techs. :roll:
Candice
Nail Tech/Owner
http://www.PanacheNailStudio.com
bad nail biters aren't easy, and for someone like yourself, just getting started with gels, it's kinda like a 6th grader trying to take a college math course.