BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: HELLPPPP :(
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

meganmariek

I am a Nail Technician in Canada, working out of my home. I cannot do work on both of my hands, so i currently go to other nail bars to get mine done.

Last friday i went and got an acrylic fill with gel overlay. Last night while i was packing to move i caught one on a doorframe and it ripped my whole.nail.off!!! With the exception of the part of the natural nail that is below the cuticle... so i currently have a bandaid on it and have to wait for it to fall off on its own. Very painful! K enough of the gross part.

What i am wondering is

1) Is this common with regular LEGAL products? I have been getting my nails done for 8 years and have had broken nails and cracked nails but never this severe. I have also never heard of it happening to anyone else either.

2) Do nail bars and spas need to provide an MSDS for their products if requested?

The reason why i ask is because this sounds like something that could happen with a product containing MMA, which is illegal in Canada but many shops still use it today. I want to make sure that this doesnt happen to any of their other clients..

Megan

sobeit

Oh gawd that hurts me just reading it. Shoot I don't know if the consumer can ask for MSDS or not, but they could have one for one product and still be using another. ( pouring it in a name brand bottle )
I would say it could happen wearing any enhancement especially if it's on the thicker side. (still hurts ouch) did the monomer smell stronger or different? Was or is it harder to file into shape? I feel bad for you and your finger nail.