BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: Question from new nail tech? HELP!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I graduated from Cosmetology school August of last year and began a job as a nail tech May of this year.
I'm not sure how payment and treatment of nail techs go so I have questions.
I receive 50/50 commission. There is no base pay. Some days I can work 10 hours and go home with nothing. If I make product sales, my boss takes them. She also labels us as independent contractors when 95% of supplies are provided for us and gives us set hours and forces us to stay even when we have had no customers. There have been times where I've worked 60 hours and received no overtime or anything. And she told me if I take one day off, I need to provide a note from a doctor. We are paid with W2s, so that also suggests I'm an employee not IC. They also have unlicensed workers here and pay them under the table. I'm not sure how to go about this or if this is normal behavior? This is my first out of school job.
Any help or insight is appreciated.
Others can give you better answers but you are right from what I read here.. this situation is WRONG. I would go to the IRS site and look up the rules for independent contractors. If you are an IC, YOU make your hours
Google Tina Alberino - she's the expert! And will tell you this is a bad situation
I was unknowingly in a situation like this before. It was a walk in place and all the "family" got paid cash....me and another girl got paid 50%. Unbeknownst to me when tax time came and I no longer worked there...low and behold I got a 1099. Total ripoff.
She is 100% ripping u off. You can either leave, which I would recommend or stand up to her. I doubt she will bend, that sounds very balsy of her all ready.
So either get out or don't complain. It's illegal what she's doing but have fun proving it.
You are new and she's taking advantage of that.
Period.