BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: What is the average hourly pay for a nail tech?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I recently accepted a job as a nail tech at a nice spa. I am surprised of the low hourly wage of only $12.00 an hour plus tips & 10% commission on retail, (All Aveda). I was quoted 13.00 an hour during my interview but the owner claims she never said that & her notes say $12.00. She also told me she pays higher than other places. I have been doing nails for 15 years with a salon in the downstairs of my house in a small lower income city. Decided to drive 45 mins away to pick up some additional income for 2 days a week, I am so embarrassed to make this low wage at 58 years old. If it is appropriate to ask. What do other nail techs working at spa's make?
(07-12-2015, 05:02 PM)[email protected] Wrote: [ -> ]I recently accepted a job as a nail tech at a nice spa. I am surprised of the low hourly wage of only $12.00 an hour plus tips & 10% commission on retail, (All Aveda). I was quoted 13.00 an hour during my interview but the owner claims she never said that & her notes say $12.00. She also told me she pays higher than other places. I have been doing nails for 15 years with a salon in the downstairs of my house in a small lower income city. Decided to drive 45 mins away to pick up some additional income for 2 days a week, I am so embarrassed to make this low wage at 58 years old. If it is appropriate to ask. What do other nail techs working at spa's make?

After checking out a few sites on line, I am learning that $12. per hour is an average wage for nail technicians. I quess I am lucky that I can boost my pay by working hard to retail.
Unfortunately, for hourly, $12 is actually high. Spas tend to offer more chances to earn commission and they offer benefits.