BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: Hourly pay
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
What do you recommend is an efficient way when looking around for a salon that pays hourly rate and commission?

Some salons have the hiring manager talk to you right away but some give you an application and the manager is not around. Plus the traveling and using your gas to go around salons.

Is it appropriate to ask in person, e-mail or phone if they pay an hourly rate and commission before you go through an interview or fill out an application?\

Hope this will benefit every Nail Tech.
having worked in human resources as well as being a nail tech I can tell you that it is not appropriate to ask howuch a position pays (including type of salary) until after the interview process. obviously you can do what you want but it isn't looked very well upon when someone randomly calls or emails asking about pay.
That's what I thought which is why I brought up the question just in case someone had a better idea.
Also, technically we don't ask in a job how much we are going to get paid. I am talking about other jobs that pay you a wage. When they make you an offer, they tell you the wage they are willing to pay. Not what I have experienced in the salon business to operate. I guess if all salon owners paid a wage like every job, then it'd be that they would make you an offer and tell you the wage I they want you to work for them.
I tried it and got a response saying they are strictly commission. I think it saves you and them time.
I think if the type of pay is a deal breaker for you than its an appropriate thing to ask. Yes traditionally this is not something you discuss during the interview process. But the nail industry is a little different. Because often salons don't pay legally (guaranteed minimum wage, proper employee classification, etc. )