BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: need to make a change
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all! I'm new to this forum. I have a little situation that I would love some input on.
I've been working at a salon for almost 3 years. The situation when I first started was that it was a hair salon and the owner basically created a small nail space for me to work in. I brought my clients from another salon and I was working full time and making pretty good money. I wasn't too crazy about my new work area but the owner assured me it wasn't permanent and she had plans for expansion in the future. The owner decided to expand and move the hair salon to another location in the same shopping center and open a nail salon for me to run. We ended up getting another manicurist in the salon, had an esthetician who was there maybe 2 months. My boss already pays me illegally by paying commission and not paying employment taxes on me. My situation now is that about a month ago she approached me to tell me that the nail salon is not making money. (I'm busy almost all the time) She tells me she needs to lower my commission 5%. I'm not okay with that I purchased all of my gels, led light, gel lamp, and most nail tools are mine. She does supply a lot but I she's extremely hard to approach about getting more supplies that I find myself just purchasing them. I don't think dropping my commission 5 percent is fair at all. It's not my fault she got in over her head. I asked her if I could pay booth rent her answer is "that would be very expensive, it would be 1500 a month" Which obviously means she doesn't want to do it that way. Basically I didn't have plan b so I said fine can we start my new commission first of the year. Yesterday I get a text from her saying that she needs to adjust my last paycheck because it should have reflected my new commission because it started the first of the year. Keep in mind, last pay per