BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: illegal or what?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm new in the field, I'm 19 yrs old so I don't know a lot of laws of cans and cants. I've been working in the field since the first of this year 2014. I started in a salon, but quit. I've been at my salon for 3 months, both salons do things that I question. I'm working in a (Vietnamese nail salon)
- I make commission 50\50 (I'm okay with that) but on the slow days 2-4 clients you make below minimum wage. Is there a minum they SHOULD bre paying you if you don't make a certain amount each day? Like servers?
-working non-stop no lunch? Usually working past close
-one day off (the shop is closed Sundays that's the day off) usually work an hour and a half over close.
Mind you I've already asked for another fday off BC I just can't do this. They said no BC we are short handed (I work with 2 other people, 2 bosses husband and wife, someone that's been on maternity leave since Dec 2013 ive never met her they are still waiting for her to come back, and a person that is part time sunday-weds is her days of she usually calls the weds off every 2 weeks (she's been there since they have opened)(she is my bfs mom)). the week after me asking for the extra day they fired someone, then we were really really short handed, and they didn't push too hard to get someone in I actually contacted someone from my old salon that I herd quit and we hired her. I am still in that predicament, they seem to not be looking BC she is supposed to come back from maternity leave I don't think she is.....so I've been looking for someone to replace her I shouldn't be doing that, but I really need another day off.
I like where I work but I have no balance. I'm stressed and my body has no time to recoup. They are working me to the bone

ADVISE???
Is this illegal?
Nope. Not legal.