BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: nail spa ownership advice
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi Ladies,

Hope everyone is doing wonderfully today.

I need advise, I'm a new nail tech finished sch6 months ago and have not worked in the field. I have an opportunity to buy a salon that has been opened for 6months. Its a 2 tech salon it is struggling right now due to previous employees. I think the price is right and the rent is low. Do you guys think that I should jump in and work my behind up to build? Any advice and your stories would be appreciated.

Thanks Isabel
It truely depends on your financial and business experience, and how damaged the shop rep is at this point. You will need a significant loan or financial backing to keep you afloat until you gain enough clientele to be independent. Until then you will be feast or famine to pay the bills. plus without Exp you will have problems trouble shooting client mishaps until you get enough exp under your belt. If you choose to purchase the salon, know that its a rough stressful road for at least a few years, until you turn a profit. Good luck!

sobeit

Quote:CloudNineNails :
plus without Exp you will have problems trouble shooting client mishaps until you get enough exp under your belt.
Great reminder. This is so true.
AmazingNails, it's a tough world out there right now, and only you can know whats right for you. Make a list of pro and cons for yourself and using the feedback you get from here, from others who have salon ownership experience. I would love to own my own place, and when the price and location are right, I would jump on it. But there are always things to consider and getting a business plan together will also help you know if this is right for you or not. I hope you are very successful not matter which way you go.