BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: disgruntled client may file charges
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I haven't been to BT in quite some time, but always come here for info and advise.
I have been a nail tech for 25 years, and last week, I got a long, hateful text from a client telling me that I gave her a bacterial fungal infection on her nails and she had to go to the ER. Aside from that, she gave a million reasons why she was unhappy with me. mind you, she had been a client for 5 to 6 years off and on. Oh, not to mention, she wears her nails pretty darn long, and is a waitress who always has her hands in water. Now it was 3.5 weeks from the last time I saw her to the day I got her text.
Yesterday, she sent me a text asking for my home and salon address. When I asked why, she said she was filing paperwork. When I didn't reply, she sent another hateful text, and in this one, she even played the race card. Wow.. Not sure what to do, I'm not even sure what kind of paperwork she is filing, be it small claims or not. I would appreciate any advise from anyone that has dealt with this sort of thing or that just has advise.
Thanks
OMG - that's scary & I am very sorry this happened! I wish you the best & hope that it all works out.
I'm sorry I can't offer advice - but wanted to wish you well!
Ignore her - block her number, do not waste good worry. If she tries to sue, consult a lawyer. It will be up to her to prove that you caused the fungal infection, which will be extremely difficult.
I have been in the business 25 yrs... I just bought professional liability insurance for the first ever!! I have never felt I needed it. :-( the world is a different place than it was 25yrs ago! I suggest you get a little legal advice on your liability in case she does blame you. Good Luck