BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: Pay Question from a Newbie Nail Tech! Is this good?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello all!

I am a newbie Nail Tech, and finally landed my 1st Nail Technician job. During the interview I tried some of their tools, and their equipment and you could tell it was quality. They use essie and CND for they stuff.

The area is very populated, and they have had a lot of traffic. They want to train me for two weeks, and seem understanding that this is my first job out of Cosmo school

They offered me 50/50 commission, they provide implements, tools, and supplies.

(If I'm understanding this correctly, if I do a service they get 50%, so if I don't get any services then I don't get paid - right?)

I am wondering if you guys think this is a good set-up. I would be in probation for 3 months, to see if I hone up my skills and feel comfortable, and will then be made full time (I'd be part time at first).

I am of course extremely nervous, and wondering what you guys think?

They seem like a good nail salon, with straight 4 and 5 star reviews on yelp.

Thank you all!
My question would be how much guidance are they providing? Is there another tech you can shadow, mentor with while you build and hone?

Personally with no clientele that's going to be a sparse check for a while.. I might see about negotiating a sliding scale base + commission for the 3 months
I take it (since they can let you go during probation) that you will be an employee? And they will be taking care of the taxes, and paying the employer portion of taxes? Depending on the state you work in, they may have to pay you minimum wage for all hours worked if your commission isn't enough to put you over minimum wage.