BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: apprenticeships anyone?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I know I've attempted to start a discussion about this on the forum before, but didn't get any answers, so I'm sorry if this is redundant but I really need help!!!
I've been a nail tech for about 7 years now, I was always been interested in cosmetology but opted to go to school only for nails for financial reasons (aka, I needed to start working asap, lol). but I recently moved to a state that allows apprenticeships. andI'm wondering how I go about getting started?? I have no idea what to do... is this something I would start with talking to the state board about, or do I ask around at salons, or look for a salon advertising an apprenticeship? I have no clue where to start, but I'm really interested. Anyone have experience with this?
It needs to be with a salon that is already registered to do apprenticeships. I know in WA, they have a list of salons with the cosmetology board.
Not all states have an apprenticeship program - in WA we do, and I think the way to find a salon is to contact the agency that licenses them to be an apprenticeship salon. State board probably has a list of who's already approved - the agency in charge could likely also know who is in the process of approval.