BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: refresh my memory please!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey ladies, I’m a stylist, not a nail pro – although as a cosmetologist, I’m covered – but I’m not really a skilled nail tech ... so a few years ago I played around with gel polish. I had a love/hate thing with it ...but I never did anything with it.

...I have decided I want to add gel polish as a service at my salon. I don’t want to get into extensions or tips, just polish ...it’s just me ...in my little 10 x 12 space inside a busy multifaceted building ...so I need a refresher on the process. Is it the same process, pretty much from one line to another?

start with:
dry mani ...remove any excess cuticle
gently rough up natural nail
swipe with dehydrating solution ( 99% alcholol will work??)

apply base gel – cure ...WIPE tacky layer off?

apply color coat 1 ( incorporating free edge)
cure
DO NOT wipe tacky layer off??
coat 2 – cure
DO NOT wipe tacky layer off?
top coat/sealer
cure
wipe tacky layer off
DONE?

what am I missing?? Thanks for the help!Shy
You don't wipe the tacky layer off after the base. The only time you wipe it off is at the end (with the lines I have used anyway).
Where are you located? I would recommend finding a tech close to you that you can sit down with. Hopefully someone nearby would be willing to help you out.
I'm in northern NY ...that's where I was confused - when to wipe! I might be able to find tech who will go over the procedure with me
(04-15-2013, 09:06 PM)loribe Wrote: [ -> ]I'm in northern NY ...that's where I was confused - when to wipe! I might be able to find tech who will go over the procedure with me

Most of the big brands have videos on youtube you can review also!
You can also check with your local beauty supply. They often offer classes for gelish, opi and CND.
What part of northern NY? I am in Pulaski and I would be happy to help you out! Smile