BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: How do you learn doing your acrylic nails?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I have been a nail tech for 3 years, but just working on manicure and pedicure. Now I am thinking of doing acrylic. I don't have ideas where i should start, what I should do. Do I need to get a mentor or I can practice myself? In winter, the business is so slow if I just work on manicure and pedicure. Please give me some your ideas!!Thank you!!
Pick a system and practice on practice hands/fingers until you get the hang of the consistency and ratios. You can watch tutorials on youtube. Then start practicing on friends and family. You can also see if there are any classes/workshops in your area. It is best to have someone teach you but you can learn yourself. I am in beauty school right now and my instructors hate doing nails and don't usually have time to help me so I pretty much taught myself.
Thank you, Lynne85, I think I have to start practicing no matter what kind of situation I have. I need to find someone to practice on!!
Tammy Taylor makes 2 videos that I highly recommend. first is Tammy Taylor's nine most popular nail procedures and then Nails in Stages. can order them from her web site. If you only get one to start then get nails in stages.
also you might want to looking into a gel polish line. since I'm sure you already know how to polish nails it will me easier to lean and you can add it to you service menu now to help boost you income. just another thought Smile
U can use dolly pins ( round pins u hang clothes up with) as fingers a bag cost 3.99 an has 60 pins in a bag. Micheal's sell them. I use them to sculpt out the nails, an they help with filing nails like you would on a real person.
Cool idea for practice- thx!
Thanks, EternalFlower09 and Powermoves. I will try them. Good ideas! Thank you so much!!