BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: Gels vs acrylics
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've been doing nails for 4 years, pedicures manicures & gel polish.. Im ready to start doing artificial nails I have a few clients intrested. What is everybodys opinion on what to start working with first? Which is easier? Gel or Acrylic?? & what brand do you recommend that is easy to work with???

Also I love taking classes but here in buffalo I feel like they are never offering nail classes.... it stinks! I'm very intrested in learning more though!!!
?? =/
(11-14-2012, 01:49 AM)JennaLynnG Wrote: [ -> ]I've been doing nails for 4 years, pedicures manicures & gel polish.. Im ready to start doing artificial nails I have a few clients intrested. What is everybodys opinion on what to start working with first? Which is easier? Gel or Acrylic?? & what brand do you recommend that is easy to work with???

Also I love taking classes but here in buffalo I feel like they are never offering nail classes.... it stinks! I'm very intrested in learning more though!!!

Hi, Gel is easier to work with than Acrylic. But Acrylic is more fun to do, just because it demands more technical experience Rolleyes
Remember, the choice between acrylic or gel should be made upon the strenght and quality of the clients nail. So as an nail-tech, we should be able to work with both systems.
For both, i work with CND.

Greetings from Belgium,
Conny
I only use gel because I hate the smell of monomer.
I was so convinced I just wanted to do gel's but then I saw how many people around me wanted acrylics done and no idea what gel was. I can also see in some circumstances would be more appropriate than gel, so I'm going to learn both.
I offer both, but I still prefer doing acrylics. I'm better at acrylics so maybe that's why.