BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: PLEASE HELP!!!!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello everyone, I have just started at a brand new nail salon, I've been a licensed nail tech since 2009 and since then I've always been self employed. Now i have an issue with booth rental or commission, Ive been at this new salon since they opened and I've been working a 60/40 commission with the 40 being my part. Ive been doing a lot of research and have found that usually if you are on commission you fill out a regular W-2 form, well my salon owner had me fill out a different form basically saying that I'm an independent contractor and from my understanding that would usually be used for a booth renter. I've been using my own product because she doesn't have any gel which is what I work with but she has replaced it when I ran out. I'm very confused about the whole situation. Ideally I would like to rent a booth but I'm not sure about the fine lines such as equipment (mani bowels, towels, disinfecting equipment, ect.) Another thing is my salon owner is a new business owner who is still taking business classes so I'm not exactly sure she knows her stuff. Please HELP!!!! I need some advice from techs experienced in the salon business !!!!

(btw despite all of this i really like this salon and the owner is really nice and understanding and has made a great environment, I do love being there)