BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: California Roll Call!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Who all here is from California! What area are you in? I'm in Tehachapi.
Sacramento!
Chino Hills Smile
Citrus Heights/Sacramento here!!
How long have you ladies been doing nails? I got my license in early 2001 and worked for 2 years, on commission for about 9 months then booth rent. I got pregnant with our second daughter and was considered a high risk pregnancy. I spent 5 months on bed rest and let my license expire. Complicated delivery and a sick baby.... Life just got in the way and I never renewed my license. I am currently studying to take my boards over again and can't wait to get back in to the industry. So much seems to have changed.

Do you guys rent or work commission? What is the average booth rent here? What is the average commission? Did you guys take the old exam with a live model or the new exam with a dummy hand?
I've been doing nails officially for about 2 years. I am a commissioned employee at 50/50 with my employer suppling all product, towels, beverages, insurance, as well as a portion of our earnings is matched for future training. Our commission levels are tiered, meaning they change more in our favor as our clientele and income grows. I think average booth rent in nor cal is from $400-900 depending on the area.

I took the old exam with the live model, so I can't offer any first hand knowledge about that experience. Try reaching out to one of the local beauty colleges and see if they can offer any assistance.
Ouch! When I worked commission it was 60/40 and the salon supplied my product, when I went booth rent at the same salon I paid $80 per week. Then again we are in a rural area so perhaps that's why it was less expensive here
Carla Collier is in Tehachapi, I'm in Carmel.
I'm in Cypress, which is only a few minutes from Long Beach.

almanorgirl