BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: brand new nail tech
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am just starting out in my first salon. I really like the gel polishes. The other nail tech has been at the salon for 16 yrs and she is very patient with me. She loves Gelac and has had me practice on a few people and I really don't care for it. It's hard to handle and I'd rather use Gelish or Mani-Q although I haven't actually used these products, they seem more even coming out of the bottle, more like nail polish. Don't know if you can understand this or not. My question is,for someone just starting out, and not wanting to wait til OPI comes out with gel, what are the best to start with? Shellac would be ok too. Thanks!
When I first started out I used Shellac. I then tried Gelish and prefer that. I do find that I can mix and match shellac and gelish with the base and top coats.
Thanks for letting me know about being able to mix/match base and top coats. I think I'll start with Gelish and see how that works out. We only have about 5 colors in the salon so I'll go shopping soon to see what other colors they have.

I LOVE Shellac. Greatest thing to come out in the nail industry. Easy to apply and easy to soak off.

There is a difference between gel polishes. Some are strictly gel, which means the gel will keep moisture trapped on to the nail and will weaken the nail, just like wearing an enhancement. Shellac, and a few others, are a combination of gel and polish components. This allows the moisture to evaporate off the nail, leaving the nail in the same condition is started with. IMO this is a big difference and should be considered when deciding which line you want. HTH!!

I do have one question though. How can you say you prefer something if you haven't tried them?? Just wondering, as that didn't make sense to me.

Oh, and welcome to the board!! :wink: