BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: I'm new please help me!!!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Confusedhock:
Hi I am a brand new nail tech and cosmetologist.....I have some questions about the best nail products out there. I'm very confused about the whole shellac, gel nail, soak offs, etc. Which is best for natural nails? Which is best overall in your opinion? I know about acrylics and want to know mainly about the gel options. Can I use just one system for enhancements and natural nails?? Any thoughts and advice would be MUCH appreciated! Thanks!
Vicki
You're opening a humongous can o' worms!!! :lol:

Every nail co. out there will tell you their's is THE best for natural nails. It's more about which one YOU feel is the best. It takes a while to find the product you feel is best for your working style and your clients.

You can use one system but it just depends on what you want to provide for your clients. Some of us prefer to specialize in one type of product, other's like to be able to give variety to reach a wider range of clients. That usually means more than one system/co.'s nail products.

The soak off gel, (sog) is all the rage now, and it's helping to get the word about gel. Hard gel, (non soakable gel) has been around for quite a while, it's just not as widely taught like acrylic. Not sure why other than it's expensive for the schools to have both systems on hand when they really don't need to. Hard gel and sog are two different types of gel, both have their positve and negative uses. Hard gels must be filed off the client's nails to remove it. It's meant for the long haul and not so much for the person who wants pretty nails just for the weekend. SOG's are much better for that. The client can soak the gel off and try something different after a few weeks.