BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: Confused
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am an acrylic nails girl. I transitioned from acrylic to gel yesterday, getting a gel fill instead of acrylic. I don't like the look or feel of the gel on my nails. They are not smooth to the touch. The tech who did them, I work with and she's been doing nails for over 16 yrs. I go to a different tech at another salon for my acrylic. I don't know what to do. As a nail tech, I prefer to do gels on my clients but I don't want to lie if they comment on my nails and I have acrylic. If I decide to take the gel off, do I soak them like the gel polishes? I need adviceSmile
Gels should be just as smooth and natural feeling as your own nail, at least they do on me. They should not be lumpy.

As for removal, if its is a soak off gel then yes you can soak it off, if it is a hard gel then it needs to be filed off.

You can try filing them smooth at the cuticle area and just as you would the acrylic and then apply a top coat of gel really thin and smooth to help the transition.

I think you should practice on yourself and use the gel and not AC if in fact that is what you are using on your clients, so that you can showcase your own work. It takes a lot of practice but the reward once you have the technique down is sooooo worth it.
She used OPI axxium gel on my nails. I think that's a soak off but not sure. I don't want to hurt her feelings since I am so new to the nail world. I can soak off the gel over the weekend at home so she wouldn't see what I was doing I guess. I totally understand about doing my own nails so am learning to do that. It's very hard to do on the non-dominant hand! Do most people know the difference between AC and gel just by looking at it?
The gel should be smooth. Mine are always smooth.