BeautyTech Forums

Full Version: New (sort of)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
After a year of lurking, I thought I ought to register and introduce myself. I am a former nail tech. Former, as in a really long time ago. In fact, we didn't even have that terminology then - we were manicurists and the licensing was very lenient. It was one of the ways I earned my way through college. I am now a dean and university researcher and I have been working through our College of Management with what I think you call NSS salons to bring them up to professional standards - it is part of a grant for business development in low-income areas.

I have spent much of the last year re-learning the trade, but focusing on SOGPs (because I think it is the future of the industry). As a researcher, I've tended to focus on the science of nail care, especially SOG/SOGPs. I've learned a lot lurking on these boards and it has greatly altered my thinking. I am also one of the dreaded DIYers as I do my own Shellac, Gelish, Geleration, ACG, etc. and participate in forums for non-professionals who use these systems.

I do respect that there should be a space for professionals to talk amongst themselves and hope that I have not intruded. I hope that I am welcome here, but understand if my non-professional status makes that difficult and will deactivate my registration.

sobeit

Hey, I think you are very welcome here. Well with me and I know several others. Your a former tech so you have some idea of whats what, and I like to pick the brain of the DIYer so I know from a clients view what they like and why.
Quote: I am now a dean and university researcher and I have been working through our College of Management with what I think you call NSS salons to bring them up to professional standards - it is part of a grant for business development in low-income areas.